Posted in Advice For Myself

Coffee Haters Need Not Read!

I love coffee!  Really!  It’s one of my very “favorite things.”  As you mentally cue the Rogers and Hammerstein music, just think about it.  Isn’t it a great addition to your morning routine?

Your morning may go something like this…You start by rubbing your eyes while you put water in the water reservoir.  Next, scoop out your desired amount of grounds into the filter, or place your favorite K-cup into its proper holder. Then press start and you wait…The glorious smell, oh my goodness, the smell of freshly brewed coffee. It’s a beautiful thing.  If you are like me you take this time to prep your coffee cup with your favorite “additions.”   I personally prefer 3-4 teaspoons of honey, and about the same in creamer.  My husband and I love honey in our coffee.  You should try it if you haven’t.

After this, you remove the pot and begin to pour that wonderful piping hot liquid into your favorite coffee mug.  I pour it sort of in a circle so to melt and mix the contents of my add ins.   This helps avoid the need to stir, a trick I learned from my friend Pastor Ken.  FINALLY, you take a drink while sitting in front of your Bible, computer, phone, tv, or your desk.  Wherever you take the time to drink your cup it’s “almost” downright MAGICAL! You are sort of transported to a place of blissful happiness.   Laugh at me if you want. You know I am right!  😉

Yes, as you can see, I really enjoy my coffee.  It’s such a small thing, I know.

Maybe that’s part of the problem with this microwave, entitled, “nothing impresses me anymore” society in which we live.  We don’t take time to enjoy the small things anymore.   We have a tendency to take things for granted.

Wouldn’t our lives change for the better if we could learn to once again appreciate the small things?  If we could, the Big moments in our lives would be the”BIG” things they are supposed to be.

So, have that cup of coffee.  Take a whiff of an old leather bound book.  Walk barefooted in your yard.  Catch the contagious laugh of a child, and LIVE.

Appreciate the small things. . . and when you do, savor them sip by sip.

Author:

I am a wife of 15 years to my husband, Doug. I have 3 boys;. I enjoy listening to and writing music, movies, laughing, looking at and purchasing office supplies, organizing, restaurants, crafting etc. I love my God, my family, friends, church and our country.

Leave a Reply

