Posted in 21 Day Daniel Fast

Daniel Fast Day 13

Daniel Fast Day 13

Cultivating Spiritual Hunger

 

Devotional Verse: Immediately the Spirit drove Him into the wilderness and He was there in the wilderness forty days, tempted by Satan, and was with the wild bests; and the angels ministered to Him.  Mark 1:12-13

DEVOTION:  Jesus pulled away from the world to pray and fast.  he also pulled away from the demands of the crowds, His ministry and even His closest friends to pray.  WE need to pull away at times from more than just food.  Including television, movies, facebook, twitter, cell phones, and the internet. 

These are avenues for mental and spiritual crowds to gather around us and drown out the Holy Spirit’s voice. 

We nourish our souls as well as our bodies.  We do so through reading, talking, socializing playing and entertainment.  When our souls are full of those things, we often don’t hunger for God.  Jesus said that “being spiritually hungry is a blessed state, because there, we can be sure of being filled with the food that truly satisfies our deepest needs.”  Matt 5:6 

Andrew Murray said ” Fasting helps to express, to deepen, and to confirm the resolution that we are ready to sacrifice ourselves, to attain what we seek for the kingdom of God…Prayer is reaching out after God and the unseen, fasting the letting go of all that is of the seen and temporal.” 

Verses Psalm 6-7

So I read these verses and am wondering “Where does the correlation occur in the devotion?”   Then I re-read Psalm 6: verse 8-10 “For the Lord has heard the voice of my weeping.  the Lord has heard my supplication;  the Lord will receive my prayer.  Let all my enemies be ashamed and greatly troubled;  Let them turn back and be ashamed.” 

When we go to God he hears us.  (Isn’t that amazing?)  I know I say that a lot, but there aren’t adequate adjectives in the English language to describe our God. 

So in this time of fasting, when we separate ourselves from the world, and get by ourselves with God, and deeply desire to go deeper with Him, we cry out, and the Lord will “receive our prayers.”  Separate ourselves and get along and quiet with God. 

 I encourage you, as I am encouraging myself to get some time away from the world; To be by ourselves with God. 

Prayer is a conversation with God.  Yes, it is a time to ask God for things, but it is time for us to press our lips together and open our spiritual ears to listen to what He would say to us.  

Get away, get by yourself in the quiet and spend some time listening for the voice of God. 

xoxo,

Brandi

 

Author:

I am a wife of 15 years to my husband, Doug. I have 3 boys;. I enjoy listening to and writing music, movies, laughing, looking at and purchasing office supplies, organizing, restaurants, crafting etc. I love my God, my family, friends, church and our country.

Leave a Reply

