Posted in 21 Day Daniel Fast

Daniel Fast Day 9

Daniel Fast

 Day 9

     I know when I first started this blog over a week ago, I said that I would discuss what I am eating everyday.  Well, It has been true up until now.  I think that for the remaining part of this fast, I will just discuss any new things that I may be trying, or new hurdles I have had to jump.  The thing that I have found is that this fast is truly becoming less about food and more about HIM.  That’s a good thing, I know.  So, don’t think that I am skirting my commitment any because I am not going to dish out that much about the food. 

The bottom line is, There’s not a WHOLE lot of variety with the Daniel Fast. (with my picky appetite) I don’t think anyone wants to read, and I definitely don’t want to redundantly write that I had (blank).  Boring!!! So I am going to keep it small.  Then again, I may end up throwing in a few sprinkles of long food dissertations. Who Knows? 

      I have found that I am nervous about having the opportunity to eat these other foods again.  I had become so consumed by the food that I was eating.  I thought about it all the time.    Instead of just waiting until my stomach was empty, I was eating because it was time for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.  I don’t want to be that person again.  I want to make healthy choices.  I have for this fast and I want to forever sever the wants for sweets, caffeine, processed foods, too much meat, etc..  When eating meat, I hope to only eat chicken and fish. Occasional beef would be okay.  

I wonder how that is going to work with my family?    Well, we shall see …

Today was much-needed, but candidly, it was tough for me.  I got what I like to call a “spiritual spanking.”  You read right, I said Spanking. 

What exactly is a spiritual spanking?  A spiritual spanking is when you are reading in God’s word, listening to a sermon, or praying and God convicts (not condemns) you for something that you ARE doing that you shouldn’t be or ARE NOT doing that you should be doing.  Well, I got one today.  That’s for sure. 

 

Devotional Verse “For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the spirit, the things of the spirit. For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.  Romans 8:56 NKJV

     The devotion today talked about how fasting is the deep cleaning that helps us take our minds off the things of this world and instead have a refreshed focus on the things of the spirit.  There are areas in our lives where we haven’t even thought about cleaning up.  We have to go to God and say “Lord, show me those areas that I don’t know about, haven’t thought about in a long time, or don’t want to think about.  Help me to deal with them. Show me how to bring them into the light of Your Truth.” 

Today’s Bible Reading was found in Luke Chapter 6

    Read these Verses and see if they don’t jump off the page at you, like they did me

  • 31)” And just as you want men to do to you, you also do to them likewise.”
  •  
  •  35)  “But love your enemies, do good, and lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High.  For He is kind to the unthankful and evil.”
  • 36-37) “ Therefore be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.  Judge not, and you shall not be judged. Condemn not, and you shall not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.”
  •  
  •  41) And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not perceive the plank in your own eye?
  •  
  • 45)  A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.
  •  

46) But why do you call Me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do the things which I say? 47 Whoever comes to Me, and hears My sayings and does them, I will show you whom he is like: 48 He is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock. And when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently against that house, and could not shake it, for it was founded on the rock. 49 But he who heard and did nothing is like a man who built a house on the earth without a foundation, against which the stream beat vehemently; and immediately it fell.   And the ruin of that house was great

Aren’t these verses amazing.  They were Jesus’ direct words.  I nearly wrote the entire 6th chapter of Luke, but that’s because there is sooo much there.  I had to include the ones that jumped off the page.   I took my spanking.  I want to be different.  I want to be as much like Jesus as I can.  I had to ask forgiveness for some specific areas in my life.  It’s never hard, but I wanted to get it out there.  Its going to be a process to get there.   I asked the Lord, that the Holy Spirit be my referee and blow the whistle on me when I do, say, or even THINK to say things that are unpleasing to God. 

I know that this is going to free me up to be closer to God.  I encourage you to do the same.  You can ALWAYS get closer, no matter where you are in your “walk/journey” with God. 

Ask God to create a clean heart and renew your spirit and restore the joy of your salvation Like David did in Psalm 51:10-12 

I included a related song for today’s devotion.  It’s the prayer that David had as mentioned above.

 http://youtu.be/f8_NjoJ_060  Keith Green– Song “Create In Me a Clean Heart” Performed by Martin Smith of Delirious

 

 

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of 15 years to my husband, Doug. I have 3 boys;. I enjoy listening to and writing music, movies, laughing, looking at and purchasing office supplies, organizing, restaurants, crafting etc. I love my God, my family, friends, church and our country.

Leave a Reply

