Posted in 21 Day Daniel Fast

Daniel Fast Day 6

 Day 6

The Spirit is Willing  

     The family was still in town today, hence the reason for just now entering Saturday’s post.  It was a good day today.  With family in town, your routines get altered slightly.  As to not wake them by doing my bible study at the kitchen table (my normal place) and being up a few hours earlier than they are, I decided to move to my walk in closet located in the master bathroom. 

 I really felt like I was in a “prayer closet” today.  I found it to be a great new environment, quiet and peaceful.   I couldn’t see outside so it made me forget about what time it was.  Which I think helped me to focus more. 

 Today was another test of will power and commitment to this fast, we had Paxton’s birthday party. It was a great time.  We had grilled hot dogs with chili, pickle relish Along with several kinds of potato chips and of course, the standard cake and ice cream.  NONE of which, I could eat.  It wasn’t hard not to eat it.  It WAS hard to see ALMOST everyone else eating it.  Drinking Soft drinks etc…    

 WE, Doug and I, didn’t cheat.  We did well.  After the party we had lentil soup, baked new potatoes with olive oil, sea salt, pepper, and paprika. (I think that is all of it) Doug had purple hull peas as well.   

Additionally, I had some fruit.  Overall, I have been surprised at how “NON” hungry I have been.  Good Day! 

Day 6 Devotional Verse:

 And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature.  I want to do what is right, but I can’t.  I want to do what is good, but I don’t.  I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway.  But if I do what I don’t want to do, I am not really the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me that does it.  Romans 7: 18-20. 

 Paul says that though we desire to do the right thing, we don’t have the power to do so in our own efforts and we mess up.  We don’t have to rely on our own strength to make right decisions.  We don’t have to be dominated by our sinful nature and end up doing the things we don’t want to do.  We need to allow our life to yield to the Holy Spirit and rely on the strength of Jesus Christ (NOT OUR OWN). 

We have to lay down our stubborn fleshly will and yield to the will of God.  When we do, the Holy Spirit is there to help us. 

The Verses that stood out to me today in the bible reading, which was found in Proverbs 1

 Proverbs 1:5 A wise man will hear and increase learning, and a man of understanding will attain wise counsel. 7) The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.  22) Scorners delight in their scorning and fools hate knowledge.  23) Turn at my rebuke [and] surely I will pour out my spirit on you.   

                                   God offers his wisdom and if we refuse, when we [do] have adversity, we will call and he will not answer. 

      31) they will eat the fruit of their own way and be filled to the full with their own fancies.

 BUT, and [you know how I love it when God puts a “but” in there…] 

              33) Whoever listens to me will dwell safely and will be secure without fear of evil. 

 

I don’t know about you, but I sure enjoy God hearing me and answering my prayers. I need all the help I can get. 

  I know that I haven’t made enough time for God, as I should, and should WANT to!  I want to be led by the Holy Spirit more.  I look back sometimes with regret because so many times, I try to handle my life on my own.

   “I’m grown now, I’m an adult ya know?”  HA!  Then I realize that after I have gone and tried to do it “all by myself,” I have made a mess of things.  Then, I let go and let God lead me to do it how He knows best, and life is usually so much easier. 

      Does He sometimes make me take the “scenic route?”  Oh yeah, but it’s all part of the journey. However, If the journey makes me more like Jesus, then on that journey, I want to be.   

      You know what though?  As long as there is breath in your body, it is NEVER too late to get close to God, to value his wisdom, to know who HE truly is. 

 There is sooo much truth in the word. . . 

                                                    If we would just make it part of our day, our lives would be forever changed. 

 Do you seek out God’s direction in our everyday life, or only in the “BIG” stuff?  I love to just be real aware during the day and SEE God in everything.  I encourage you to try that during your day-to-day life.  Look for God in everything. 

         He’s everywhere, In ALL things.  If you will just look, you will find HIM. 

 Xoxox,

 Brandi

 

Author:

I am a wife of 15 years to my husband, Doug. I have 3 boys;. I enjoy listening to and writing music, movies, laughing, looking at and purchasing office supplies, organizing, restaurants, crafting etc. I love my God, my family, friends, church and our country.

Leave a Reply

