Posted in 21 Day Daniel Fast

Daniel Fast Day 5

Day 5

     My oldest son Paxton has his birthday party this weekend, and my mom, step-dad, and grandmother came down to celebrate.  As is the norm when family comes to town, we decided to go out to eat for dinner.  I was so proud of myself because I made “the” salad dressing that I had made before, and I was all ready to take it to the restaurant.  I could envision it now…[sitting down at dinner with our family, I confidently order the plain salad and baked potato.  Then I pour the dressing on the salad, and sea salt on the baked potato.  We all laugh and have a great night]… then I “awake” to the voice of my husband, sitting in the drivers seat, saying ” Did you bring your salad dressing?”  The cymbals crash, car wheels squeal, and glass breaks in the background of my mind as I look in my purse and try to recall why the dressing  is on the counter at home and not in my purse!!!! AH!!!!! 

We arrived at the restaurant and bless the waitress and the owners of Sweet Peas Table in Olive Branch, MS.  They were really accommodating to us.  Bringing Vinegar and Olive Oil to us to try to have something to put on our food. 

So What did we eat?      We both stayed true to the fast and had a plain baked potato and a salad.  (we  had to take the cheese and potato sticks off of the salad)  I gladly poured the olive oil on the potato and ate it.  I could not, however, eat the skin.  It had regular salt on it.  sigh! It’s my favorite part. 

I am still eating the same stuff.  I did finally eat the Ezekiel cereal with Soy milk. (little honey added) It was good.  Overall pretty decent day… except for the fact I didn’t get to eat what I had prepared. 

When Grace Comes Down

Devotional Reading “For the law was given through Moses, but grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. 

 John 1:17 NKJV

      Today our devotion questioned us with “What would it be like to have God personally come visit you?” “To know Him we only have to look at Jesus.  He is the only one to have ever seen God.”  ” He has not only seen God, He is God! [ I can only imagine hearing the door bell, going to the door and seeing God standing there, waiting to be asked inside.] I wonder what would he say… would he care about the way the house is decorated?  Would I have already showered?  Would my kids be in the midst of one of the sibling “debates.”  No, I think we all know that God would be there to see… ME!  The same as if He was at your house.  He would be there to see YOU! 

     I am no better than anyone else, and God loves us all the same.  VERY MUCH!   Just when I think I know how much, I realize I still don’t have a clue.  WOW! 

     What would he do in my house?  He would be there to sit with Me, to hug/hold me, to tell me how much He loves me and how important I am to Him.  The question is… would we let him come inside? The problem is…We do this already. Jesus IS the way to God, and He stands at the door and waits.  He’s a gentleman…He will knock and wait until we ask HIM to come inside.  Some may never go to the door at all.  Many people never ask Him in, while many others ask  Him inside… then Leave the other room.  We go about what we were doing.  As if, to have NEVER had an encounter with the Maker of the Heavens and Earth.  Wow… Lord, I hear you…LOUDLY! 

 Bible Reading Luke 4

I loved this whole chapter.  There’s a lot in it, if you will study it.  Jesus is tempted by Satan in the wilderness.  He succeeds, as He always does. Fighting temptation of Satan, and a 40 day fast of nothing but water.  Here’s some more to go along with what I talked about above. 

When Jesus goes into Nazareth (his home town) the people marveled at his words, but then asked “Is this not Joseph’s son?” they couldn’t accept and recognize who he was.

 [Here’s what I find interesting]..However, vs 33) He was rebuking “a man who had a spirit of an unclean demon.”  It cried out ” Let us alone! What have we to do with You, Jesus of Nazareth?  Did you come to destroy us?  I know who you are… the Holy One of God.”  

The demons knew who Jesus was… but the people who Jesus grew up around…The ones that should have known Him the best, and who He was, didn’t.  Can you see how that relates to us?  I mean… we believers have the Holy Spirit living in us, we have direct access prayer to Jesus (no longer have to have a priest do it for us) He gave us eternal life.  We recognize Him, but we DON’T KNOW HIM! I know I don’t, at least not as I should.

If you are reading this and feel led to, pray this with me..as i do so myself. 

      Jesus, Lord I pray that you would continue to reveal Yourself to me.  Show me who You really are.  Show me those areas that I don’t let YOU in, but I need to.   Those places where You stand at the door and knock… and I never ask you inside.  You see my true self, my true heart.  I want to invite you inside of  All of me.  Empty me, of me.  Jesus, Thank You for this revelation.  May it be forever stamped on my heart.  That You know everything about me from my thoughts to my actions, and You love me regardless.  There should be nothing between us because You already know it all.  Change me Lord, Make me more like YOU.  In Your Name I pray, Amen. 

I am calling it a night now.  May you be blessed.  Until tomorrow

xoxo~ Brandi

 

Author:

I am a wife of 15 years to my husband, Doug. I have 3 boys;. I enjoy listening to and writing music, movies, laughing, looking at and purchasing office supplies, organizing, restaurants, crafting etc. I love my God, my family, friends, church and our country.

Leave a Reply

