Posted in 21 Day Daniel Fast

Daniel Fast Day 4

DAY 4

Today, Day 4, seemed as if it was becoming routine. More of a habit. Which for me, is great.  I need the routine!  Was the food temptation easier, sort of.  My headache from Day 3 was gone, so today, I enjoyed the peace that had moved into my brain. 

     I am sort of running out of creativity with food ideas a little bit, a lot to do with the fact I am a  finicky eater.  Oh well, this isn’t about LIVING TO EAT, It’s about EATING TO LIVE!   If I could keep this truth after the fast, then it would be life altering.  Why do we comfort ourself with food?  Is it because most good things are associated with food?  Think about it…….Birthdays, Weddings, Promotions, Anniversaries, Parties, Church Fellowships etc…. All have food associated with them.  Another thing that makes LIVING to eat a problem, is we have to have food for our nourishment.  I know during fasting you deprive yourself, but you do eventually eat afterwards.  It’s essential.  We have to have food! 

     If I, if We, could learn to only eat when we were hungry , we would probably be able to eat all the things that we wanted to eat ( in moderation) without having to worry about extra pounds or our health.  Of course, I am no physician, but it SEEMS logical.  Oh well. 

     You may have caught on that I have switched up the order as far as the Devotion first and then the food section.  I am being spontaneous.. Maybe?  I just started writing the first thing that came to my mind.  Isn’t that sort of what a blog is supposed to be about?  I know this one is supposed to be a chance to “Eavesdrop on my mind” 

The menu today was a buffet of sorts.  I had everything from an apple, to a snack box of raisins, to Ezekiel bread, to brown rice to peanut butter.  I am noticing that I get full on less, but hungry more often.  Maybe the metabolism is getting faster?  Lord please, may I have that?  Overall, the food today was good.

By the way,  I made this salad dressing today.  I was prepared to go to a work luncheon today and eat only a salad…. with my HOMEADE dressing.  Can you picture it?  LOL. Here I sit with a group of professionals about to eat and I whip out my dressing from the zip lock baggy in my purse.  The luncheon wasn’t today as I had thought, so I still had this dressing I made.  I thought “What am I going to do with it?  I poured it over the baked potato I prepared for lunch. Nothing else on the baked potato.  It was fabulous!  Wanna know what was in it? 

  •  100% strawberry fruit spread
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • a little bit of honey
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Sea Salt
  • a dash of balsamic vinegar   I am no chef, but it did taste good. 

Enough about food, let’s get into the stuff you can sink your teeth…

Today’s Devotional Verse

 Amos 3:3 “Can two walk together, unless they are agreed?”  The Devotion says ” a key to having a strong level of spiritual intimacy with God is living in agreement with His will for your life.” 

D.L Moody says “Before we pray that God would fill us, I believe we out to pray Him to empty us.”  My goodness, I so need to empty more of me.  I pray that the Lord helps me empty more of myself out so that He can occupy more of me in the newly created vacancy of my heart.  Lord I am believing that you are doing a work in me during this fast to accomplish this. 

BIBLE READING IS FROM LUKE 3

Starting in Verse 7 it popped out to me  and says the following.. “Then he said to the multitudes that came out to be baptized by him ‘Brood of Vipers!‘ ( which means Off spring of Vipers) [ I discovered that the “they” he was talking about was the Pharisees and Sadducees] . . . ‘therefore bear fruits worthy of repentance and do not begin to say to yourselves, ‘We have Abraham as our Father.  God is able to raise up children to Abraham from these stones and even now the ax is laid to the root of the trees.  Therefore, every tree which does not bear fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire.’  [Sincere sorrow, from God that causes us to Repent (turn away) from sin] 

—Lord help me bear good fruit.  There is probably pruning that needs to happen in my life.  Lord lay into the roots of whatever it is… reveal it to me…quickly so that I can get rid of it. —-

Cross Reference Matt 12:34 How can you, being evil, speak good things?  For out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks.  Have often do you think about what you say before you say it?  I know I do sometimes, but other times I just blab blab blab away.Our words need to be treasures, and our lives need to be bearing fruit… Lord I ask that you make this true in my life.  May the words that I speak be treasures and my life bear good fruit

Well it’s goodnight for me.. I have attached the song Empty Me, Sung by Chris Sligh. 

 Empty Me, of Me so I can be … filled with You.  http://youtu.be/E0e0WEkxj58  Watch this video… Let it minister to You and allow  God to reveal those things YOU may need to empty!

xoxox,

Brandi  

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of 15 years to my husband, Doug. I have 3 boys;. I enjoy listening to and writing music, movies, laughing, looking at and purchasing office supplies, organizing, restaurants, crafting etc. I love my God, my family, friends, church and our country.

3 thoughts on “Daniel Fast Day 4

  1. Brandi, I’m really enjoying your blog. The foods you and Doug talk about sound “interesting.” Tell me the truth about the okra. I’m finding that I want to get some! 🙂 I’m loving Doug’s videos, but your thoughts and musings about the devotionals are wonderful. I’m really getting a different yet similar feel from the devotionls through you. Thanks so much for this blog. It’s really inspiring and helping me to focus.

  2. Love reading your blog Brandi. I love you and am so proud to be your Aunt. Keep up the blog. I look forward to it.

Leave a Reply

