Posted in 21 Day Daniel Fast

Daniel Fast Day 3

Day 3

Hello World,

I hope all of you that are fasting in some way, are staying hydrated and encouraged.  Day 3 started the same way as the first 2.  I am the type of person that needs to sort of create a routine with something like this.  I need to do my devotions at the same time, early in the morning.  I give God the first of my day this way.  Confession–I have gone back to bed afterwards a couple of days…SHHH

Todays Devotional verses were from Matthew 17:18-21 And Jesus Rebuked the demon, and it came out of him; and the child was cured from that very hour.  Then the disciples came to Jesus privately and said, “Why could we not cast it out? ” So Jesus said to them, ” Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there, ‘  and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.  However, this kind does not go out except by prayer and fasting  

 With God anything is possible!  We have to go to God with belief in our hearts… true belief that HE can and will do the things that we ask. 

When we pray for the things that we ask for, we can and need to go to God Boldly!

The devotion said that “When we come into alignment with God, it helps curb our doubts and fears.  When we pray and fast, the thing that leaves, the thing that goes out, is our unbelief…

Don’t limit God in my prayers….oh my.  As I sat and thought about this, I realized that I do this.  It’s amazing, I will pray and then I have the war in my mind about whether God will really do something.  How completely wrong I have been about the way that I pray AND about my GOD! 

Bible Reading for Day 3 was from Luke 2

These Verses are about Jesus’ birth and up to Him learning, asking questions, and expressing his knowledge of the Word to the Priests in the temple.  

A Verse that stood out to me was Verse 21 it talks about how Jesus was circumcised after 8 days.  I wondered “why?”  Why after 8 days.  Then it went on to say in 22) when the days of her purification were completed, they brought Him to Jerusalem to present Him to the Lord .  So I went back to the Old Testament (per the cross-reference verses in the margin of my Bible–ALWAYS USE THEM–they help soooo much!)

It is customary that Every male (1st born shall be called Holy unto the Lord)  The first-born were to be atoned (redeemed) by a sacrifice based on the Law of Moses and the passover when God redeemed the first-born of Israel by the blood of a sacrificed lamb covering the home.   The Last plague came from the mouth of  Pharoah saying “all the first-born of Egypt were to die.”  [BUT God!!] redeemed the first-born of Israel.  He’s such a good God!  

Women had to wait through their “unclean” period after the birth of a son (7 days) so hence the reason Jesus wasn’t able to be circumcised until the 8th day.  Mary wouldn’t have been able to go.  She was considered unclean during that time.  Another example as to why you have to read the cross-reference (The Old Testament explains what is going to happen in the New Testament) You have to read them both.  

The best part about all of that… ? We no longer have to do this…

 Believers have been eternally redeemed by the blood sacrifice of Jesus. (the Spotless Lamb)  His spilled blood Redeemed the children of God.  Thank you God! 

MY word of the week seems to be AMAZING.. but that’s the only thing that I can say.  I am amazed by the Bible, by God, by Jesus.  I am almost speechless, and most of you that know me, know that’s almost impossible!   ha ha!  🙂 

FOOD TODAY….HMMM .  I had to catch myself from eating a little bit of captain crunch this morning as I was preparing the boys cereal.  I am realizing that I mindlessly eat things, without any thought as to why?  I am noticing that denying myself food, my body is learning when it is actually HUNGRY, and not just “it’s time to eat” 

I ate a lot of fruit today.  I packed my lunch with a small box of raisins, an apple, a piece of Ezekiel bread with natural peanut butter and honey spread on it, a banana, a small package of freeze-dried strawberries and bananas (those are amazing)  They are sooo good.. Seriously.  Can I just say that the Wal-Mart in Hernando is pretty fabulous?  They have a lot more organic and healthy food options.  Thank you Wal-Mart, and thank God that I live close enough to it that getting there is not be out of my way. 

Today was church night, so we were busy after work getting the boys fed and in the vehicle.  I didn’t really have time to eat. I knew I had a left over apple and banana in the car, so I would eat that if I got really hungry before getting home from church. 

I did discover today that Unsweetened Soy Milk is really not bad.  Put it over some Ezekiel almond/raisin cereal and you got yourself a delight!   

Tomorrow I’ve got to find a salad dressing that is sort of sweet, but in line with the diet.  So we shall see. I may end up making one.

 

Hey, my prayer for this blog, is that it will help you BE encouraged!   Fasters, You can do it.  I am a largely picky eater.  It’s a true test for me.  When you get hungry… drink water, and pray. 

I realize that I haven’t even made it a week yet, but I know that it’s going to pay off! 

Stay focused on the goal… To get closer to God!  Til Tomorrow. 

xoxo,   Brandi  

 

Author:

I am a wife of 15 years to my husband, Doug. I have 3 boys;. I enjoy listening to and writing music, movies, laughing, looking at and purchasing office supplies, organizing, restaurants, crafting etc. I love my God, my family, friends, church and our country.

Leave a Reply

