Posted in 21 Day Daniel Fast

Daniel Fast Day 2

DAY 2

So after a successful first day I was ready to get going on Day 2.    6:00 am was a little easier on Day 2.  I had my hot decaf herbal tea as I sat down at the kitchen table.  The kitchen table has become quite the little cozy place to sit and study.  I like it. It fits me!  

The Devotional verse for Day 2 is from John 10:27 (Tune In to God’s voice-like you do to a radio station)  My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. 

The devotion challenges us to tune out the world’s distractions and tune in to God.  When we fast we deny our flesh, and in the process get more in tune with the Holy Spirit.. resulting in hearing God’s voice more clearly.  The more we practice being in His presence, the clearer and more recognizable His voice becomes.  [Oooo I want that…more of that, another scoop of that, please]

Our Bible Reading for Day 2 was from Luke 1

Here’s candid me confessing… I thought Luke 1?  The same Luke 1 where Mary has the visit from the angel to tell her she is greatly favored will give birth to Jesus?  However, QUICKLY, I recanted my thoughts of “i’ve read this chapter so many times, what shall I learn differently?”  Boy one thing is for sure.. was I ever wrong in my thinking that I had “read it so much, I may not get much out of it.” 

. . . I discovered that as much as I do know, I don’t know twice as much.  Oh do I have so much to learn.

I continually see that the Old Testament is truly known by the people in the New Testament.  They refer to it constantly.  ( I love the parallel verses in the margins)  The Old Testament is a book of what is to come in the New Testament (That is amazing) 

Our Bible Reading was Luke 1 

     Every day we are to notice from the reading, the verses that sort of  “jump off the page” at us.  Then pick 1 (I pick the top several) that we feel like God is speaking to us.  So far it has been at least a verse to teach/correct and one to encourage.  My first one was Luke 1:6  … they were both righteous before God, walking in all commandments and ordinances of the Lord, Blameless, BUT they had no child [ to me this spoke that unpleasant things can and do happen to good people, I love when the bible says “BUT”  13) The angel said “Do not be afraid Zacharias, for your prayer is heard. [He was giving them a child (a SON) and he would be ” great in the sight of the Lord, he will make ready a people prepared for the Lord.  [Not only a BOY child (you were a blessed woman in those days to give birth to a boy), but a great gifted child] God truly has great things for his children. 

     The second verse that stood out to me is 1:72 and to remember his holy covenant, the oath which He swore to Our father Abraham: to grant us that we being delivered from the hand of our enemies, might serve  Him without fear, In Holiness and righteousness before HIm, all the days of our lives [He (God) has called us to be Holy and righteous.  To not live in fear of our foes, for He has delivered us from the hand of the enemy. 

     We live in such a time of fear.  A time when the world is so uncertain or so that it seems.  I hope that as you are reading this, it encourages you.  God is still in control, He is still on His throne.  He is the beginning and the end.  He knows what is going to happen today, tomorrow and 10 years from now.  Shouldn’t that give us some PEACE?  If we are a believer and follower, we should continually remind ourselves of this truth.  That God is forever with us, and he has delivered us from the hand of the enemy (through the blood of Jesus Christ) 

                                                                                                                                                                  I Believe I might just preach in a minute!  🙂 

This lesson was good, I can’t wait for tomorrow.  Although only Day 2, 2 thinks are happening. . . 1. I am craving, yearning for MORE of the word.  and 2. When I am reading, I can pause and say “God what does that mean” and almost instantly, the answer is given.  That is AH-MAZING. 

 You are probably thinking… so whad-ja EAT today? 

I woke with a growl, a true growl in my stomach… (first time in a while for the morning)

I did really well today except for the afternoon when I was running out of creativity (already?) .  I realized from my pocketbook that Processed foods were cheaper and definitely quicker to cook.  That wasn’t going to stop me though.   

  • Morning:  I had my herbal tea, and then 2- 16oz glasses of water in my reusable, double insulated, cup with reusable green straw (love it… I drink more from a straw–whatever works, right?)   Then I had a piece of Ezekiel Toast with Natural peanut butter and a swirl of clover honey!  It was delish!  This will be a new breakfast staple . . . for sure.   I also had some fresh pineapple (my favorite fruit) It was SO yellow and juicy.  

At this point I was pretty full.  So I head to work and do well with just water pretty much all day (i truly wasn’t  hungry)  UNBELIEVEABLE. 

  • Lunch:  The night before my husband Doug made a soup with Lentils?  Oh yay ( my sarcastic voice was screaming in my head) He made me try it and well, It was FANTASTIC.  Best soup I have ever had in my life.  (seriously!) So I had the Lentil soup for what I had and wanted for lunch.  I also had a baked potato with sea salt and olive oil and a little bit of fresh salsa.  (are you getting hungry?)  I could barely eat it all. 
  • Around Dinner…I finished work to the arrival of ” got any ideas?   Well we opened up the Tofu.  I am not going to lie…. when we opened up the package, we sort of just looked at it and wanted to sing the Theme song to Sponge Bob Square Pants.  It looked like an old faded kitchen sponge.  We cut it up and cooked it in oil.  It had the taste and consistency of scrambled eggs.  I think it could be good if we had better flavors for it to absorb.   We ended up drinking the remainder of the smoothie from the night before, ate some fruit,  made homeade (on the stove) popcorn, and I also made some homemade ketchup (for later taters)

All in all it was a good day.  I am tired now.  The boys are getting in  bed, and I will soon follow.   I am looking forward to tomorrow.  Til then, Be Blessed and Goodnight.  xoxo Brandi

  

 

 

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of 15 years to my husband, Doug. I have 3 boys;. I enjoy listening to and writing music, movies, laughing, looking at and purchasing office supplies, organizing, restaurants, crafting etc. I love my God, my family, friends, church and our country.

Leave a Reply

